Monday, April 23, 2012

A Beautiful Sunrise behind the Bridges

Caught this stunning sunrise as we crossed the Bridge into Punta Gorda today.   

Sunday, April 22, 2012

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Fountain of Youth? Artesian Well at Marion and Taylor

In 1908, A.P. Jordan, Publisher of  the  Punta Gorda Herald desiring publicity for  both the city and the paper, wrote that the artesian well drilled on the corner of Marion and Taylor was the famed Fountain of Youth.

The news spread and was soon believed to be truth.  A sign was placed on the fountain, telling of its ability to cure numerous internal ailments and relieve chronic pain. Pleased by the positive response of his fictional story, Jordan continued to write on the well's healing properties, quoting  community members like the former Florida Governor Gilchrist and Punta Gorda pioneer Edward Wotitzky on their health improvements being attributed to the well water.

Today while the fountain still operates, a sign warns that the water may not be safe to drink.

Sunday, April 15, 2012

Raising Their Pink Flowers at the Punta Gorda Dragon Races

Breast Cancer Survivor Dragon Boat Paddlers Raise Flowers to Toss in the Peace in Memorial

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Monday, April 9, 2012

Slice of Punta Gorda Life -- Lining up for Ice Cream at Gilchrist Park

Patrons line up for ice cream at Working Cow's traveling ice cream truck at Gilchrist Park

Sunday, April 8, 2012

Happy Easter -- Easter Service at Ponce Park


Saturday, April 7, 2012

A Wild Painting Ablaze in Tones of Fire -- Another Punta Gorda


Friday, April 6, 2012

Thursday, April 5, 2012

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Florida Community Bank

Florida Community Bank at the corner of Nesbitt and Marion 

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Idle Speed -- Pelicans Take a Break at Ponce Park in Punta Gorda

Large Brown Pelican overlooks a cluster of trees where other pelicans have gathered off Ponce Inlet in Punta Gorda 

Monday, April 2, 2012

Two Heads Better Than One.. White Pelicans at the Wild Life Refuge

These two white pelicans appear to be almost one with two heads at the Wildlife Center in Ponce Park


Sunday, April 1, 2012

Mummy Mingles with the Crowd in Downtown Punta Gorda

Here Comes the Mummies in Punta Gorda... One who Mingled with the Crowd   

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
There was an error in this gadget